Choke

Three weeks.

Judgment Day is nigh!  The Austin Half is only 3 weeks away.  Have I trained enough?  Will I be able to finish the furthest distance I’ve ever aspired to?  HOW BAD WILL THE THIGH CHAFING BE???

Tomorrow is 12 miles, then I start to taper.  The crater in my foot is healing nicely.  Today, Mr. Cookie and I invest in some sweet new race outfits.   Something seems so wrong  about buying shorts for running in winter.  I’ve grown so accustomed to my cold weather gear (read- ten l layers of wicking technical fabrics) that it seems scary and makes me feel mildly cold (oh, who am I kidding?  I’m always cold) to think about buying gear for a warmer clime.

Part of me is saying I can’t do it.  10 miles was really really hard.  11 miles wasn’t as bad because unlike 10 miles, sleet and wind were pleasantly absent.  On the other hand, HOLY CRAP that last mile sucked.  And now, 12.  The scary part is, it’s the highest I’m going to get up to before the race.  All the research says tapering is good, but I’m starting to panic a little bit.  What if my body isn’t capable of doing 13.1?  What if they find me in the fetal position on the side of the road?  I’ll wake up with all those Texans standing around me, nudging me with the toes of their cowboy boots while they ask “what do ya’ll think we ought to do?”  Maybe their wives will have Brown Betty for me and will call me “honey” while they nurse me back to health.  I’ll forget to tell them I’m vegetarian and will feel bad turning down their perfectly cooked chicken fried steak with fries and country gravy.

Then we’ll go out for Tex-Mex and I’ll cry into a plate of perfectly cooked refried beans and Spanish rice.  And Mr. Cookie will forever tease me about the time I couldn’t finish a measly half marathon.

Leave a Reply

