A Bright Spot

Rain
Shel Silverstein

I opened my eyes
and looked up at the rain
and it dripped in my head
and flowed into my brain,
And all that I hear as I lie in my bed
is the slishity-slosh of the rain in my head.

I step very softly,
I walk very slow,
I can’t do a handstand–
I might overflow,
so pardon the wild crazy thing I just said–
I’m not the same since there’s rain in my head.

The rain has been pervading my mood.  But, I and those around me are persevering!  Rallying forth!  Fighting the good fight!

I walked into the teacher’s room yesterday to see that a colleague had done this:

It made my day.  It seems really silly now, but it’s pretty great how much it perked me up.

Other things that have been cheering me up:

The school put on “Once on This Island.”  I’m so proud of how well the kiddos and the directors did.  It is always refreshing to see the kids outside of an academic context.  You could tell the kids were so proud of their work (and really, the tireless work of the directors).  Mr. Cookie came and I ran into a bunch of my old students who still knew me by my maiden name and hadn’t met him.  It was really nice to see so many of them again.

GirlyQ (frequent commenter and friend) is having her birthday party this weekend which gives me an excuse to bake.  She reads this, so the only secrets I’m divulging right now are:  carrot, two tiers, and purple.  You’ll just have to check back for the finished product.  With any luck, no more Cabo Doras will show up this time.

And then there’s this.  My oldest nephew (3rd grade) wrote his first “love” note last night.  Sister Cookie went in to tuck him in last night and give lights out but he was busy writing.  She looked over his shoulder and he had filled up the little page with appeals to a girl who he has apparently been crushing on for awhile.  He loves her, she makes him happy,  he hopes they can get married some day (woah, Romeo!).  He gave it to her today and she apparently told him she would write a note back to him today or tomorrow (I guess it’s looking like tomorrow).  I realize they’re little and it’s silly but I can’t help remembering some of my first crushes.  I can’t believe he’s at that stage yet.  Time really flies with little ones.  I’m cringing a little bit worrying about the response (or lack of one).  Sweet boy.  I can only imagine what her parents will say when she inevitably tells them about the note.  What do you think about that, Sister Cookie?!


1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    sister cookie said,

    I am terrified for the poor child!!! He wants to dress up for the response note! OMG


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

