Heard and Seen at the RMV

I had to go to the RMV today to get a new copy of the car registration because I lost the old one.  Woops.  I read somewhere on the VERY RELIABLE internet that to get a new one online would cost $10 more and after waiting for about a half hour, I learned it was all lies.  It costs the same!  Blah.  But, without my grand trip to the RMV, I would not have gotten to see these truly wonderful gems of humankind.

Scene One

(two women slightly younger than me but dressed like they’re in HS stand filling out a form for one girl’s driver’s license or permit test or something like that)

Girl One: (filling out form for other girl) Hey.  Do you want to register to vote?

Girl Two:  I think I might be already.

Girl One:  You don’t know?

Girl Two:  I think so.  Are you?

Girl One:  Like I care! (Still filling out form) Hey, are you a Democrat or Republican?

Girl Two:  What are those even?

Girl One:  I don’t know.  Just, like, pick one.

Girl Two:  What is Obama?

Girl One:  Umm… (Stares off into space for a second)

Girl Two:  ‘Cause I’ll be whatever he is.  I’m Obama’s girl!

Girl One:  I think he’s Republican?

Scene Two

(middle aged Italian man stands behind customer service counter.  He looks up and starts to gesture to the next in line but, thinking better of it, holds his hand up to them and calls out)

Customer Service Agent:  Is anybody heah to take the permit test?  Ahh you heah to take the permit test?  (waits a few seconds while there are inaudible conversations going on up and down the line). Come fahwud if yah heah to take the permit test.  (people start shuffling around.  One old man with a younger man start to come forward, stop, start speaking to each other in Spanish, then step forward again and stop, holding up the line of permit testers behind them). PERMIT!  (Looks directly at the two men and starts gesturing in the air with a snapping gesture and a slight lean forward as he says each following letter) P.  E.  Ahhh.  M.  I.  T.  Permit!  You heah to take yah permit test?  Come up heah!

Oh, racial tension in the Boston burbs.  I love how he thought spelling it out would ease their understanding.  I wish I had spoken Spanish, because I would have gladly translated.

Leave a Reply

