The Kitchen is My Studio, Food My Artistic Medium

Well, I currently have about a half bushel’s worth of apples glubbering away on the stove, ready to be canned and put away in the basement.  The hot water bath canner is coming up to a boil and the jars are sterilizing in the dishwasher.  I adore this time of year.  It is a time of apple cider donuts, crisp air, crunchy leaves underfoot, and hot cider.  I also bought some pumpkins at the orchard yesterday and used them to make homemade puree.  SO COOL!  I’ve already used some of the puree to make a pumpkin jelly roll for my mom’s husband, whose birthday it is tomorrow.  They are in from Alaska and his birthday just happened to fall during their trip so Mr. Cookie and myself are helping them to celebrate.  On the menu:  manicotti; italian sausage, onions, and peppers; salad; roasted nuts; the aforementioned cake (which tastes amazing, btw); hot apple cider; and cinnamon ice cream.  Yum.  I’ll try to update this later with pictures of the apple sauce and I’ve also got a post coming later this week on how to make your own delicious, homemade manicotti.  Yum!

Leave a Reply

