Yes.

I wasn’t going to say anything.  I was just going to keep my mouth shut, head down, and keep moving forward.  Then I read Girl’s Gone Child‘s post on it and realized I just couldn’t.

When I woke up this morning, Mr. Cookie asked me if I was ready for a day’s worth of terrorist coverage.  I had no idea what he was talking about, but my immediate fear was that something terrible had happened.  Bin Laden.  Dead.  I haven’t turned on the tv because I don’t want to see.  I can’t bear to see people rejoicing at the death of another.  Don’t get me wrong.  I realize that this one death could prevent thousands more.  I know, deep in my heart, that this will bring healing for a lot of people.  But I also believe in symmetry.  For every person who rejoices in his death, there is someone else who mourns it.  For every person who sees it as an end, there is someone who sees it as a beginning.  Someone who before wanted to mind their own business when it came to international relations may see this as the final insult from those Americans and join forces.

An eye for an eye.

What happens when the whole world is blind?

Leave a Reply

