Sonambulation

I am a heavy sleeper.  My whole family tends to be, really.  But, last night, when I woke up in my closet, it was a first for me.  I’m fairly certain Mr. Cookie didn’t put me there as punishment for my pregnancy induced snoring (*eyeballs Mr. Cookie warily*), because I was standing upright and the offending object which had apparently woken me up- a hanger- was still jabbing me in the face.  Also, I really needed to pee.

Getting up in the middle of the night to pee is new for me.  When I first found out I was pregnant, I could get through the night but come 5:30-6:30, I was wide awake with a full bladder.  Lately though, I have found myself making more frequent late night trips.  I can only assume that, my body sensed my need to relieve myself and (very kindly, if you ask me) decided to take care of things without waking me up.  Unfortunately, apparently my semi conscious self has a lousy sense of direction.

I decided to consult Dr. Google, and wouldn’t you know?  Pregnancy can trigger sleep walking.  Because constant nausea, dizziness, heart burn, and a host of other symptoms weren’t enough.  Seriously.  My Pregnancy Week by Week did NOT cover this.  At least this time I was only trying to get to the bathroom.  Let’s hope it doesn’t turn into something more serious!

Leave a Reply

