Minutiae

13 weeks left.  Holy shit.  I remember when I was so excited to hit 13 weeks pregnant!  It seemed like such a milestone (and, at the time, it was).  But, yesterday I turned 27 weeks pregnant and Stowaway got that much closer to viability.  Sometimes I wonder if people really care about my mindless pregnant ramblings but then I decide it doesn’t really matter, because I care and one day it will be nice to have a record of this time.

So, some really exciting developments (to me):

* I’ve now seen my stomach move a couple times, courtesy not of my own muscles but of Stowaway’s shaking and kicking.  Last night, I gave the bathtub a really good scrub (not an easy feat at 6 months pregnant) so I could just lay there in a warm bath and watch my belly shake.  Stowaway apparently takes after neither of his parents and is underwhelmed by audiences (read: uncooperative).

* I think Stowaway is mesmerized by her daddy’s voice.  Sometimes, she’ll be participating in Richard Simmons-esque workout and then Mr. Cookie will come into the room, talk, and suddenly she goes entirely still.  It’s kind of cool because I love his voice too.

* I feel incredibly blessed to have such wonderful friends.  From Heather, who has single  handedly undertaken the task of my shower, to Sarah and Jenn, who are always happy to answer all of my stupid pregnancy questions, to Eljon and the countless people who called and emailed when I put a message up on Facebook for all of five minutes saying I was overwhelmed and weepy, and to my family who is always a phone call away, even if I don’t get to see them nearly often enough.

* Mr. Cookie and I went to a cloth diaper workshop at Diaper Lab (which is awesome, by the way).  We’ve decided to move ahead with cloth diapers!  Cloth diapers make me want to squeal with excitement, because they are so cute!  Lots of reasons for this, but I think the main one is that Mr. Cookie and I both have super sensitive skin (so we can only guess that, by extension, so will Stowaway) and cloth is supposed to be better for sensitive skin than disposables

* Glucose test- is scheduled for the 30th, and after that appointment I start being seen every two weeks.  When do they start doing internal exams?  I have an irrational fear of going into labor early and would love to hear that nothing is happening.

* Does anyone know of good breast feeding resources in the area?  Might as well use these boulders for something useful.  And my Bradley instructor keeps emphasizing that we need to “watch other women nursing.”  Seeing as how I’m not terribly comfortable saying “hey, could you NOT cover your tits so I can watch you feed your child,” consider this your passive invite to come to my house and nurse without covering up (I promise to maintain a distance of at least 5 feet).

12 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Kim said,

    We’re cloth diapering too! Like you, super sensitive skin, and it’s cheaper, and a bit better for the Earth, so, in all, seems like a good decision to us! We’re at 22.5 weeks.

    and what’s this reference to Stowaway as a “she”? Hmmm….

  2. 4

    Jenn and Ben said,

    i care! i love reading all about your pregnancy!

    i believe my OB started doing an internal check at around 37 weeks. she didn’t really seem interested in doing them weekly after that first check, and i believe it’s because they like to do as few as possible prior to birth so as not to introduce any unnecessary bacteria in there. i made her do another one at 39 weeks because i was dying to know, and then she automatically started doing them again at 40 and 41 weeks. fwiw, it’s quite possible you will start dilating even up to a month before labor. it’s pretty common – i’ve even had friends who were at 3 cm dilated even a few weeks before they went into labor. i was a few cm dilated and (if i’m remembering correctly) 80% effaced a week or so before labor. it’s just as common not to dilate/efface much at all prior to labor and then during labor to dilate/efface relatively quickly when it starts.

    there is a drop-in lactation group at the Cambridge Hospital on (if i’m remember correctly) Tuesdays mid-day? if you want i can get you the specific information about it (or you can ask Jude, who i originally got the information from). i did go to that one and found it to be very helpful – there is always a certified lactation consultant there to help guide you one on one (you do have to be comfortable taking out your boobs in front of the other moms there, though — i think there were about 4 other moms there at the same time i was — it’s a pretty chill atmosphere, though). i believe Isis in Arlington also has a drop-in lactation group — the information for that one is on their website. both of these are really only useful once you’re nursing the baby.

    • 5

      Jenn and Ben said,

      also, if you end up having supply issues (which i’m betting you WON’T, but if you do…) i can probably talk your ear off about that to due tons of personal experience with it and having read several books on the subject.

  3. 6

    Sarah said,

    I have a BFing book you’re welcome to borrow (I kept it next to my chair for the first few weeks so it could reassure me when I freaked out!). I hear the La Leche League one is good too. We took the Isis class, though it was fairly useless. I have the handout from it electronically, if you want to take a look. But really, pretending to nurse a doll is pretty much nothing like nursing a baby.

    I’ve never been to the BFing specific groups, since we were lucky and didn’t have issues, but there’s also often an LC at the midwives group, which as you know I think is fabulous. (And the midwives there are happy to help too!) I mostly just made my friends look when I had questions…after a few days in the hospital where everybody wants to look/grope you, you will probably have fairly few issues with such things 🙂 (And, relatedly, feel free to come stare at my boobs whenever you want. Well, while Margo is eating. If she isn’t, that might be a bit awkward.)

    I didn’t have an internal check until 40 weeks, I’m pretty sure. Maybe 39? They try to avoid doing it earlier than necessary, because it can introduce germs, I think, and doesn’t really tell you anything useful until you’re in labor.

    • 7

      Sarah said,

      Also, this is sweet, useful, and overly cutesy all at once: http://theleakyboob.com/2011/08/baby-explains-normal-newborn-behavior/

    • 8

      Jenn and Ben said,

      “pretending to nurse a doll is pretty much nothing like nursing a baby.”

      …this is SO true. we also took a bfing class prior to having mr. baby, and i pretend nursed a stuffed bear, which in retrospect, is just so comical because nothing they taught me in respect to holding it, etc., ended up working for us in terms of feeding him.

      for example, side-lying nursing has totally worked out way better for us than any other kind of nursing (esp. when he was much smaller)…they never even mentioned this as a useable position!

      • 9

        Sarah said,

        Heh – we, on the other hand, never did master nursing while lying down. Still can’t really do it. A friend told me to make sure they showed me how before leaving the hospital, which was very good advice, even if it didn’t really help us. (We were all about the football hold very early on, and then just the normal cradle hold since week 2 or so.)

        Though, you know, sitting around pretending to nurse stuffed animals might be a fun way to creep out Mr. C.!

    • 10

      Erika said,

      One comment I *did* want to make (despite the fact that everyone else in my household is way more expert on this topic than I am) is that the quality of LC on the postpartum wing varies from day to day. One of our good friends had an awesome one; ours was decidedly not. So

      I support Sarah’s plan to creep out Mr. C. It’s way more exciting than putting them in cloth diapers and carrying them around in various wraps and slings. Though we recommend both of those as well.

      • 11

        Jenn and Ben said,

        did you have the boob-squeezing lady too??

        i actually think the LC we got in the hospital ended up being the reason we had a lot of issues early on! she actually told us that because he was having trouble latching at first, we should feed him with a syringe and a tiny tube on the finger, since it mimicked the boob…which another LC (who we met with later) told us was total crap and that it totally did NOT mimic the boob at all and was unnecessary.

      • 12

        Erika said,

        Jenn, for some reason, neither Sarah nor I can reply to your comment. There was no boob-squeezing; that would have been WAY to hands-on for her. She was just generally rude and dismissive and showed no interest in actually helping Sarah and Margo figure anything out.

        Hm, in retrospect, I’m thinking that maybe she was just eager to go home and take off the oh-so-practical stilettos she was wearing around the hospital. Can’t let a newborn get in the way of that pedicure, right?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

