Showers

My shower was now a month ago.

Please forgive my tardiness in writing about it.  I was so overwhelmed by all of the generosity and love shown by our friends and families!  My friend Heather threw the shower at our church, and a lot of wonderful people showed up.  These were people from every facet of my life- my childhood, college, adulthood, family.  Even those who couldn’t come due to time or travel difficulties were there in spirit.  Stowaway truly was showered with so much love (not to mention gifts!).

In fact, the registries are now basically empty.  That’s a pretty good feeling.  I went out a couple weeks ago and purchased the rest of the cloth diaper supplies from Diaper Lab, a local cloth diaper store.  Then, that evening I went to choir only to be surprised by a small shower.  They had taken up a collection and purchased most of the same items I had bought earlier in the day!  So, I was able to return my items and save a bunch of money.  I guess that’s what I get for jumping the gun.  🙂  Okay.  You have to see these adorable diaper covers we got:

And, if Stowaway turns out to be of the female persuasion, I may be forced, kicking and screaming, to purchase this insanely cute one too:

This baby is going to have a very fashionable butt. 

What was I saying?  Oh yeah.  Shower.  So, my shower was exactly what I imagined it to be.  It was laid back and fun, there was a lot of good food, and everyone seemed to have a good time.  Heather brought a couple of lasagnas and several other friends also brought things.  My friends are great cooks!  I have never felt so completely supported and surrounded by love as I have during this pregnancy.

After the shower, my mom (who flew in from AK for this!) came back to my house with two of her dear friends (women I’ve known since I was a very small child).  I still remember fondly sleepovers and parties with these ladies and their children.  We sat in Stowaway’s room for a good portion of the evening admiring all the gifts I’d received, putting some stuff away, and generally starting to get the room in better order.  They stayed late, until husbands started calling and the drive back to their respective homes (in NH and ME) started to seem long for such a late hour. 

All in all, a great day.  Mr. Cookie and I feel truly lucky to have such a strong support network.  Stowaway is incredibly lucky too, because one day s/he will look on many of these same friends the way I see my mom’s friends.  All of you are treasures to me.  Thank you for being so giving of yourselves.  I am in your debt.

Leave a Reply

