Who Are You?

This morning, I woke up and my belly was shaking.  I made Mr. Cookie crawl back into bed: “put BOTH hands on my stomach,” because Stowaway was having a little party in there (complete with hiccups).  Oh, the rolling and surging feelings that come with this part of pregnancy are quickly making it my favorite.  My second trimester was supposed to be the best, but with the continued food aversions and the whole rib issue (did I mention I had a broken rib?) it has been less than the promised cake walk.  Now, my hips are getting sore as Relaxin hormones surge and I am a little more tired again, but perhaps for the first time in my pregnancy, the good feelings are dominating on a regular basis (random crying episodes aside.  I heard a report on NPR the other morning that made me start sobbing.  Mr. Cookie was good enough to hug me and not tease)!

The nursery is nearly done (well, we still have a lot of clothes and little things to buy, but the furniture is all purchased and assembled and many little accents are done) as of this weekend.  Woohoo!  Nesting is in full swing and, as I am now in my third trimester, I can’t help but find myself wondering who this little person is inside.  That’s another benefit of not knowing the gender, in my eyes at least.  I get to wonder and guess at that too but then no matter what, I get the best gift in the world at the end.

At the beginning of the pregnancy, I had this unshakeable feeling that I was having a boy.  I’m not sure whether it was because I liked the idea of Mr. Cookie having a son to share the same incredible relationship with as he and his dad have, but I liked the idea of “boy.”  Lately, I’ve been thinking it’s a girl.  I realize all of this is pretty silly, because I have a 50/50 shot at guessing correctly.  Also, you should see the way my lone niece has him wrapped around her finger.  It doesn’t matter the gender, this kid is going to be a total daddy’s child.  And yet, there may be some indications one way or another.  Take, for instance, this study.  It turns out, there may actually be some correlation between extreme morning sickness and the female gender.  I don’t know if you guys remember, but way back before anyone even knew we were pregnant (aside from the Mr. and me and a team of medical professionals), I had to go to the ER for dehydration.  Umm, too much vomiting.  AND AND AND I still throw up sometimes (sorry, you may not have wanted to know that).

And yet, it still doesn’t matter.  I can honestly say that no matter what, no matter how much I’m proven right (red hair, blue eyes, mellow, loves music, mesmerized by Daddy’s voice) or how much I’m proven wrong, it just isn’t going to matter.  I love this kid like crazy and it is just getting crazier every step closer.

Well, okay.  Let’s be honest.  Lack of red hair could be a deal breaker.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Kim said,

    I cried my eyes out at “How to Train Your Dragon” last night.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment